« Return to Blog Listings
Dec. 25 2019

Wednesday 12/25/19 Carnegie Hall Live

By WBJC Programming | Posted in WBJC Evening Concert | Comments Off on Wednesday 12/25/19 Carnegie Hall Live

11:00 PM

Superstar vocalists Renée Fleming and Audra McDonald joined the San Francisco Symphony and Music Director Michael Tilson Thomas for Carnegie Hall’s Opening Night Gala with a program of musical theater, opera and orchestral music by Gershwin and Liszt.


Gershwin: Cuban Overture
Gershwin: “Summertime” from Porgy and Bess
Villa Lobos: Aria from Bachianas brasileiras No. 5 (arr. Mark Volkert)
Liszt: Mephisto Waltz No. 1
Bock/Harnick: “Vanilla Ice Cream” from She Loves Me
Guettel: “Fable” from The Light in the Piazza
Stephen Sondheim/Rodgers: “Children Will Listen” from Into the Woods / “You’ve Got To Be Carefully Taught” from South Pacific (arr. Rob Fisher; orch. Bruce Coughlin)
Nyro: “Save the Country” (arr. Michael Tilson Thomas; orch. Bruce Coughlin)
Gershwin: An American in Paris
Avatar photo


WBJC is member supported. The programming you see here is made possible by YOU and we are grateful for your continued support! Make a donation today by clicking any of the blue buttons around the site.

Comments are closed.