Elgar Cello Concerto & Langston Hughes

« Return to Calendar

Sunday, October 13, 2019 | Start Time: 03:00 PM


The Washington Metropolitan Philharmonic Orchestra opens its season with three appealing pieces. Gwyneth Walker’s dramatic setting of Langston Hughes’ famous poem “Let America Be America Again”. Virgil Thomson’s witty “Symphony” engages hymn tunes and other Americana. Maryland Symphony cellist Molly Jones performs Elgar’s beloved Cello Concerto. The concert is repeated in Oakton, VA on Saturday Oct. 19th.

George Washington Masonic National Memorial
101 Callahan Drive
Alexandria, Virginia 22301

(301) 642-3537  wmpa.board.president@gmail.com