Posts Tagged ‘Brahms’

Apr. 03 2012

Tuesday 04/03/12 Chicago Symphony Orchestra

By WBJC Programming | Posted in WBJC Evening Concert | No Comments

11:00 PM Conductor: Lorin Maazel Brahms: Serenade No 2 in A Major, Op 16 Bartok: Two Pictures, Op 10 Prokofiev: Symphony No 5 in B-Flat Major, Op 100 Grainger: Rufford Park Poachers from A Lincolnshire Posy (CSO Brass) Related posts: Tuesday 12/13/11 Chicago Symphony Orchestra Wednesday 01/25/12 Live! At The Concertgebouw Thursday 11/01/12 The Cleveland […]

Mar. 20 2012

Tuesday 03/20/12 Chicago Symphony Orchestra

By WBJC Programming | Posted in WBJC Evening Concert | No Comments

11:00 PM Conductor: Michael Tilson Thomas Pianist: Yefim Bronfman Crawford Seeger: Andante for Strings Berg: Three Pieces for Orchestra Brahms: Piano Concerto No 1 in D Minor, Op 15 Schumann: Symphony No 3 in E-Flat Major, Op 97, Rhenish (Sir John Eliot Gardiner, conductor) Related posts: Wednesday 11/09/11 Live! At The Concertgebouw Monday 04/16/12 New […]

Jan. 25 2012

Wednesday 01/25/12 Live! At The Concertgebouw

By WBJC Programming | Posted in WBJC Evening Concert | No Comments

11pm CONDUCTOR: Christoph Eschenbach ORCHESTRA: Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Schumann: Symphony No. 4 in D Minor Brahms: Symphony No. 1 in C Minor Related posts: Wednesday 11/09/11 Live! At The Concertgebouw Thursday 10/27/11 Cleveland Orchestra Wednesday 08/22/12 Live! At The Concertgebouw

Jan. 24 2012

Tuesday 01/24/12 Chicago Symphony Orchestra

By WBJC Programming | Posted in WBJC Evening Concert | No Comments

11pm Conductor Semyon Bychkov returns, along with duo-pianists Katia and Marielle Labèque. Poulenc: Two-Piano Concerto Strauss: Ein Heldenleben, Op 40 Brahms: Symphony No 4 in E Minor, Op 98 (David Robertson, conductor) Related posts: Wednesday 01/25/12 Live! At The Concertgebouw Tuesday 03/20/12 Chicago Symphony Orchestra Tuesday 05/22/12 Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Nov. 09 2011

Wednesday 11/09/11 Live! At The Concertgebouw

By WBJC Programming | Posted in WBJC Evening Concert | No Comments

Conductor: Mariss Jansons Smetana: The Bartered Bride Overture Martinu: Double concerto for Two String Orchestras, Piano and Timpani Brahms: Symphony No. 4 Related posts: Wednesday 11/23/11 Live! At The Concertgebouw Wednesday 02/01/12 Live! At The Concertgebouw Wednesday 06/13/12 Live! At The Concertgebouw

Oct. 21 2011

10/23/11 A monumental work

By Mark Malinowski | Posted in Toccata | No Comments

Brahms wrote 2 piano concertos in his lifetime, at opposite ends of his career. The first didn’t fare well (except with Liszt, which really irked Brahms), but the second was a triumph. One reviewer said it was actually a concerto for 2 orchestras, except that one of the orchestras is a piano. Don’t miss a […]

WBJC