Columbia Orchestra

« Return to Calendar

Saturday, February 2, 2013 | Start Time: 07:30 PM

Jim Rouse Theatre | Columbia, MD

Madeline Adkins

Barber and Sibelius

Madeline Adkins, violin
Samuel Barber – Violin Concerto
Benjamin Britten – “Four Sea Interludes” from Peter Grimes
Jean Sibelius – Symphony No. 5

Written as independence for Finland was finally being achieved, themes of triumph, liberation, and inner peace inspire Sibelius’ Fifth Symphony in equal measure. Barber’s Violin Concerto is as American as Sibelius’ music is Finnish, and Baltimore Symphony Associate Concertmaster Madeline Adkins brings her extraordinary talent to this poetic masterwork. First, Britten paints a vivid portrait of the world of his most famous opera in four colorful sketches.