Columbia Orchestra

« Return to Calendar

Saturday, December 1, 2012 | Start Time: 07:30 PM

Jim Rouse Theatre | Columbia, MD

Anne Koscielny


Tchaikovsky and Rachmaninoff

Anne Koscielny, piano
Nkeiru Okoye – Voices Shouting Out
Sergei Rachmaninoff – Symphonic Dances
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky – Piano Concerto No. 1

Rachmaninoff’s final masterpiece is his crowning achievement for orchestra, combining high energy and romantic lyricism with the sparkling colors of the symphony. Virtuoso Anne Koscielny brings her profound interpretive skills to Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto, and Nkeiru Okoye’s work, written in the wake of September 11, 2001, opens the concert with fire and resilience.